yekillo.blogg.se

Inky box lite
Inky box lite




inky box lite

it's a much smaller house than this big, grand house of yours" he added, apologetically.įREE Podcasts 🔈 Many of these listening exercises have transcripts, vocabulary notes and comprehension questions. "If you will meet me tonight," he said, "when the moon is up, and you have been let off that - er - piece of string, I will show you the house and then you can think about it for a day or two and see if you feel you'd like to live there. So Inky-Piny-Pooh said, "I wonder if she would like me? I'm sure Cook doesn't want me, and I would so much like to have someone to love me and cuddle me and care for me!" I've never heard her ask for a mouse, but I have heard her asking for a kitten." And I know the little girl has been wanting a kitten for a long, long time. I'm sure they would spare a little food for us. Then he said, "I know a house, not very far from here, where they love animals, and always have plenty of food for them - crumbs each day for the birds, and milk for the hedgehogs each night. and as for cheese, oh!, my whiskers and twinkletoes, I've almost forgotten what it smells like! I can understand how hungry you must be!" When Inky-Pink told him, Twinkletoes nodded his head and said, "I know! I know This new Cook never leaves even a crumb about. He was very, very indignant indeed!īut the little mouse (whose name, by the way, was Twinkletoes) was really a kind-hearted little mouse, and when he saw how upset the little kitten was, and how thin and hungry-looking he seemed to be, he was sorry and asked what the trouble was. He was smacked, and he was scolded, and then he was tied up to the leg of the table by a piece of string, so that he could not get into the larder again when Cook was not looking! It was all most humiliating!Īnd when a cheeky little mouse came by and grinned at him and said, "Good dog! Good dog! What a pretty lead you've got!" poor Inky-Pinky-Pooh felt that insult could go no further. To say that she was angry would be an understatement. He purred happily to himself, "Oh my whiskers and paddy-paws, what a be-au-ti-ful piece of fish.!!!!" But just as Inky-Pink was dragging the fish off the plate, Cook came back into the larder and caught Inky-Pink. It was just begging to be eaten, and it was on the lowest shelf of all! But, most beautiful of all was a plate of shiny, silvery fish lying there on a plate.

inky box lite

It was the most wonderful place he'd ever been in, and quite took his breath away! For a while he was lost in admiration just looking at the lovely plate of fresh liver, the pheasant hanging from a hook in the ceiling, the chicken and the ham.

inky box lite

So, when one day he suddenly noticed that Cook had left the larder door ajar, he slipped in quietly when she was not looking. He not only felt more and more lonely and miserable, but more and more hungry, too. So he sat beside his plate very quietly and hoped that that would remind Cook and soften her hard heart! But it did not seem to have any effect, and she merely scowled at him whenever she looked his way. But when she smacked him and pushed him away each time, he realised that that was no use! He had had nothing to eat for over two days.Īt first he tried mewing gently, and rubbing himself against Cook's legs. One day poor Inky-Pink was very hungry indeed. And Inky-Pink-Pooh was never allowed to sit by the kitchen fire nowadays. She rarely remembered to put out any food for Inky-Pink, and there were never nice tit-bits left over as there had been in the old cook's time. It was a very grand house, too, but when a new cook arrived one day things began to be bad for poor Inky-Pink.įor the new Cook did not like animals at all. Inky-Pinky-Pooh was a very little kitten, and he lived in a very large house.






Inky box lite